A Guide to the 7 Chakras

Whether you are new to spirituality or a seasoned practitioner, you have probably heard of chakras. Chakras are energy centers in your energetic body, which align with nerves and organs in our physical body and can affect our physical and emotional wellness.

This concept originated in India, from Hinduism and Buddhism. The chakra’s first mention comes from the Hindu scripture, Veda, and it’s what mostly resembles the current chakra system. Buddhism’s most common teachings consist of five chakras, although that number has fluctuated over the centuries.

These ancient teachings and systems are what guided the creation of the modern Western chakra system that we use today, which has been popularized due to the rise of yoga and New Age philosophies. This system consists of seven chakras that run along our spine, starting at the base of the spine and ending at the top of the head.

What are the Seven Chakras?

The seven main chakras from the modern Western system are the most widely known and referred to when talking about chakra alignment, although there are actually 114 chakras in our body. In this post, we will be discussing the seven main chakras and what each represents.

Photo by Healthline

Root Chakra

Also called the Muladhara Chakra, it is located at the base of the spine. This chakra mostly represents grounding and stability. Therefore, when it is out of balance you may feel unstable, a lack of drive or purpose, or insecurity. In your physical being, this may translate to arthritis, constipation, or colon problems.

A balanced root chakra means confidence, stability and balance, physically and emotionally. 

Color: Red

Crystals: Black Tourmaline, Smoky Quartz, Red Jasper

Sacral Chakra

The Svadhishthana Chakra, located in the lower abdomen. The sacral chakra represents sexuality, self-worth and creativity. When out of balance, it can manifest as emotional imbalance, irritability, struggles with creativity and sexuality. Physically, you can experience issues such as lower back pains, impotency, or urinary tract infections.

A balanced sacral chakra means happiness, satisfaction and positiveness. 

Color: Orange

Crystals: Carnelian, Amber, Fire Opal

Solar Plexus Chakra

The Manipura Chakra, located in the stomach area. This chakra is associated with your ego and self-esteem. Issues related to this chakra include aggression, anger, depression, and perfectionism. Physically, you will encounter digestive issues, such as eating disorders and indigestion.

Color: Yellow

Crystals: Citrine, Tiger’s EyeTopaz

Heart Chakra

Also called the Anahata Chakra, it is located in the heart area. If you hadn’t guessed yet, this chakra is associated with love, compassion, trust, and our connection to others. If it is imbalanced, you will see issues trusting others, as well as anxiety, jealousy, loneliness, and moodiness arising. Physically, there will be heart problems, such as asthma.

Color: Green

Crystals: Rose Quartz, Malachite, Aventurine

Throat Chakra

The Vishuddha Chakra, located at the base of the throat. The throat chakra represents communication, plain and simple. Therefore, communication problems will arise when this chakra is out of balance, such as thoughtless speaking, gossiping, or having difficulty expressing yourself. You may also experience vocal and throat problems in your physical being, or problems relating to your thyroid gland.

When balanced, you will be able to express yourself and communicate better.

Color: Blue

Crystals: Aquamarine, Sodalite, Turquoise

Third Eye Chakra

Also called the Ajna Chakra, it is located between the eyebrows. This chakra symbolizes intelligence and intuition, i.e. what we usually think when we hear “third eye.” An imbalanced third eye chakra can make you egoistical or non-assertive, unable to listen to your intuition. It can also bring issues with concentration, headaches, or eye strain.

Yet, when balanced, you will become confident, able to think more broadly and access your intuition.

Color: Indigo

Crystals: Lapis Lazuli, Labradorite, Blue Kyanite

Crown Chakra

Also called the Sahastrara Chakra, it is located at the top of the head. This is your focus for spirituality and bringing you closer to higher consciousness. You can become stubborn and overly skeptical when this chakra is blocked, too attached to what you can see. 

This is a highly important chakra to keep open, as it can help with the balance of all your other chakras, as well as your own journey to enlightenment. 

Color: Violet or white

Crystals: Clear Quartz, Amethyst, Selenite

Keeping your chakras balanced and aligned is very important for your overall well-being, both physically and mentally. Check out this website for more information on how to balance and realign your chakras!

Also, check out our Chakra Alignment Bundle!


By Larissa Aguiar


Feature photo by Susanna Marsiglia on Unsplash